Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Gear Pattern

Old 09-20-2020, 04:20 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gear Pattern

This is my first time setting up gears. For those of you who have some experience, what do you think of this pattern? everything is in spec and backlash is at .007.

Dana 44 rear, non-rubicon, Yukon 5.13 gears, Detroit Turetrac.

Old 09-20-2020, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

I'm also doing gears just up the road from you. I'm no expert, but I'd say you've got it good. It's centered up, it's not coming over the top of the gear. Hopefully I'll be able to get mine finished tomorrow.
Old 09-20-2020, 06:38 PM
JK Newbie

Thanks Karl! What ratio are you re-gearing to?
Old 09-21-2020, 02:22 AM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

I'm going 4.56 from 3.73 but I'm in a 6 speed with 35's and that same 3.8l. I've been on 3.73 for so long that jumping two sets should put me back to 'factory' plus a pinch.

Your pattern is making me want to go back and shim mine just a pinch more.
Old 09-21-2020, 05:57 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,943 Likes on 1,700 Posts

I'm no pro and have only done this on my own jeep a couple times, the first time with help. I think the pattern looks good and I'd be fine running it.