Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Duratrac 315/70/17 question

Old 02-17-2013, 08:39 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Newbie here... Just got a 2013 JK Unlimited Sport Automatic with 3.73s... I’ve spent HOURS reading all the modified JK tech newbie stickies & countless posts, but there’s still some questions I have...

I’ve decided to buy some AEV Pintlers, mainly due to their hubcentric design. I know some will say hubcentric wheels aren’t necessary, but after the CONSTANT balancing issues I had with some XDs I think it’s worth the extra cost. I’d rather spend a few extra bucks now than make 4-5 trips to Discount Tire every time I have my tires rotated and spending an hour or two each trip.

I’ve decided to go with Duratracs based on reviews and the looks of the tire. If I don’t lift right now I want to get the 285/70/17s and leave the suspension stock for a couple of years and save some money (baby on the way!). I’m still contemplating the AEV 2.5 lift, but I’m being a warranty weenie right now.

But if I do decide to go with the lift I’d like to get some more info on the 315/70/17. According to the GY website, they measure 34.4”, they only weigh 6 lbs more than the 285/70/17s, and are only about 1.6” wider. I know there will be more rolling resistance due to the wider tire and larger circumference and I know I’ll need a new tire carrier.

My questions are:

1) Will these cause the same kinds of issues as a true 35” tire? Do I need to beef up my front axles, make other modifications, etc?