Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Dana 30 upgrades worth it?

Old 12-01-2015, 07:24 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dana 30 upgrades worth it?

Hey noob here, wondering is it worth getting chromoly shafts and 30 spline for the front Dana 30? If I did these upgrades do you believe the axle could handle 5.13 gears and a zip locker? From Yukon? Thanks guys!
Old 12-01-2015, 08:20 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Some people think it's worth it. But you might be better off just leaving it alone ( or throwing in a lunchbox if you want some traction up front) and starting a savings account towards an upgrade for if/when the 30 implodes.
Old 12-03-2015, 03:51 PM
JK Newbie

I think it depends on how hard and how often you are going to wheel it. I have a 30 up front with stock axles c gussets 5.13s 37s and a truss i dont wheel all the time but have taken it on difficult trails with no issues.
Old 12-03-2015, 04:49 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I was talking to someone at a wheeling event earlier this year that runs a Dana 30, trussed and gusseted with RCV shafts and 5.13 gears. Wheels it pretty hard.

He doesn't expect the gears to last all that long, but what the hell, gears are cheap. LOL!
Old 12-03-2015, 06:15 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts