Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Choosing an on-board air system..

Old 12-14-2011, 02:43 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choosing an on-board air system..

Am looking at the various options, gearing up for beach season.

I am just getting started and as yet have only narrowed it down based on my budget and the complexity level of the install. Now it's time to thin out the contenders.

Can someone please help me understand Duty Cycle? What it is, how it impacts performance and why I should pay attention to it.

My use will be primarily for airing up after a beach excursion.
Old 12-14-2011, 02:54 AM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Don't waste your money on onboard air then if mostly for beach stuff. Just buy a VIAIR 400 so you can still fill your 35s.

Other brands on market That I would look into

ARB
Smittybilt

This is just a site I used to get you example links

/www.4wheelparts.com/Winches-and-Winch-Accessories/Smittybilt-Air-Compressors.aspx?t_c=18&t_s=190&t_pt=100437&t_pl=5 822

://www.4wheelparts.com/parts/viair-compressor/viair-portable-compressors.aspx I'd get the 400 if you have 35s

://www.4wheelparts.com/Towing/ARB-Air-Compressor.aspx?t_c=67&t_s=3&t_pt=4644&t_pl=393

You will have to copy from www on
Old 12-14-2011, 02:59 AM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The VIAIR link I sent you will give you enough examples of what each will do. Also going portable will only cost you max off $200. Onboard you have to buy mounting hardware and all the other bs, oh and install time...
Old 12-14-2011, 03:06 AM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts