Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Characteristic of bumper carriers???

Old 05-14-2009, 04:40 AM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Characteristic of bumper carriers???

I have my LoD Bumper and carrier mounted...

I have noticed, when I hit bumps in the road, that the carrier shakes a bit....
Makes no noise, but shakes slightly.

Is this a normal characteristic of an aftermarket carrier? I have no experience with them.
Old 05-14-2009, 05:00 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can you move it around by hand? I guess a normal amount of sway in the joints would be acceptable, but if the pivot point moves around or the latch isnt tight, that may lead to problems in the future. I'd think those things are supposed to be pretty well tightened down...
Old 05-14-2009, 05:04 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by racer83l
I have my LoD Bumper and carrier mounted...

I have noticed, when I hit bumps in the road, that the carrier shakes a bit....
Makes no noise, but shakes slightly.

Is this a normal characteristic of an aftermarket carrier? I have no experience with them.
I've got the LoD rear bumper with the carrier like you. No shakes or rattles, here. Check your snubber to make sure it's snug against the rack. I was actually surprised how steady/sturdy the tire carrier is...
Old 05-14-2009, 05:27 AM
JK Junkie

by hand i absolutely cannot move it. the snubber is very tight against the carrier, it bulges pretty good.

When I say shake, its not like its moving too much.. but when I look out my rear window, I can see movement, almost like just vibration I guess....