Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

cant decide on a lift- need help

Old 02-20-2015, 08:40 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cant decide on a lift- need help

ok, so I know Im going to sound like a complete noob (which I am) but I cant decide which lift kit to get. I have read a lot of threads and stickies and learned a lot and narrowed down my decisions. I'll start by mentioning I am not doing any extreme wheeling. I actually bought my jeep back in November 2012. I went wheeling quite often with it stock and took it wheeling to some places a stock jeep probably shouldn't go. Did a good amount of damage, but hey I was wheeling with other heavy modified jeeps and I had a blast.

That being said, I am now more of the light trail, just want to get off the pavement type. Got more serious into racing dirtbikes and that takes up most of my time and budget. I have an 08 wrangler X, 6-speed, 2 door. I would like to run 33 inch tires. So I figured a 2.5 inch lift would be good. Cant decide between a 2.5 inch "coil" lift with shocks, or a 2.5 inch coil spacer and shock spacer lift. Not sure how important the rear track bar relocater is on just a 2.5" lift either. Either way it seems like both lifts come with bumpstops.