Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

CAI and a snorkel?

Old 02-24-2011, 08:50 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CAI and a snorkel?

I am feeling a little worried that I may have made a mistake. I'm a newbie to the forum but have done a lot of mods to my JK. One of the first mods I did when I got the JK home from the dealership was to install a KN Cold Air Intake. I could not convince my wife to let me get a snorkel but I knew I wanted a better filter. Anyways, now i want a snorkel and of course I just scrapped the stupid OEM air box thinking I'll never use it again. Am I screwed? Is there a snorkel out there that will use a CAI or that comes with the necessary stuff to revert back?

Thanks!
Old 02-24-2011, 08:59 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Most of the snorks on the market use the factory box or parts of it. Volant makes one affectionately referred to as the hood slug which is a new cold air box and the slug, pretty pricey since you already have a cai. I would suggest if you go the route that requires a factory box, request a takeoff here or scout the yards for a used one. I'm sure, others will chime in with their specific setups and how/if they require the factory box or it's parts.
Old 02-24-2011, 09:52 PM
JK Enthusiast

Why don't you just buy another factory air box? They appear to be around $200 or less with all the add-on parts from Mopar.