Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Balll Joint Installation -- Axle Shaft Question and Other Concerns....

Old 10-13-2011, 09:12 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balll Joint Installation -- Axle Shaft Question and Other Concerns....

I'm replacing my ball joints this weekend. This is my first time doing this. My buddy is letting me borrow his ball joint press. I've been watching plenty of online videos on how to do the install, but I still need further clarification on a few things to ensure everything goes smoothly....

Questions:

1) When reinstalling the axle shaft(s), how do I ensure that I correctly placed the axle shaft(s) back into the axle housing?

2) What tools do I need to make the job easier? And feel free to correct this list, but so far I believe I need the ball joint press, 21mm socket/wrench, 35mm socket, 12-13mm ratchet, 1/8" socket and wrench, 1/2" breaker bar, and a pickle tooth pry bar. Anything else? Anything wrong with this list? Do I need floor jacks or will my one spare tire jack be sufficient enough to keep the axle up while doing the install?

3) Anything I should watch out for when having to remove the sensor (I think it's the ABS brake)? How should I go about removing this properly?

4) If you happen to know, what should my torque settings be when reinstalling all the bolts and nuts?

Thank you!

If you have any tips and advice, please share.
Old 10-13-2011, 09:43 AM
JK Enthusiast

I would support the axle with a sturdy jack stand.
Old 10-13-2011, 09:57 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by GON WHLN