Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Advice needed... Proper components to do a 2.5" - 3" Lift Kit with 35" tires

Old 01-20-2011, 05:47 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice needed... Proper components to do a 2.5" - 3" Lift Kit with 35" tires

Hey all,

So I am trying to forward plan a little here and have been reading a ton of threads and such trying to inform my self a little more about Jeeps and their suspensions.
As a Jeep newb I am overwhelmed at the amount of sheer information on this forum, wow! Its great, really is.

I am planning on getting into wheeling more but not quite as hard or intense some of you. This is my first Jeep that I have owned for about a month now.

I would like to put some 35" tires all around on the Jeep at some point and at the same time buy a set of 17" or 18" wheels and also get a lift kit done. Needless to say a little saving is in order to do all of the stuff at the same time.

My motto is do it right the first time. So here I am seeking some proper advice as what specific suspension components does it take to properly lift a Jeep 2.5" - 3".

I am really interested in doing the 2.5" Teraflex lift kit comes with:
Front and Rear Coil Springs
Front and Rear Bump Stops
Rear Brake Line Brackets
Rear Sway Bar Links
Rear Track Bar Bracket
Front and Rear Shocks

but could be swayed to do the 3" Teraflex coil lift which comes with if its worth it?:
Front and Rear Coil Springs
Rear Sway Bar Links
Front Sway Bar Disconnects
Front and Rear Bump Stops
Rear Track Bar Bracket
Pair - Stainless Brake Lines
Front and Rear Shocks