Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

37" tire necessities

Old 11-07-2013, 04:09 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 37" tire necessities

Hey guys, so I just got a screamin deal on a set of 37/12.50/17 MTRs but am worried as to what it is going to entail to get them on the jeep. Currently I have a 2011 stock jkur. Had plans on getting 35s and a 3.5" lift and keeping it simple but with the upgrade to 37s I'm not sure what I have gotten myself into. I'm a recent college grad so I don't have all the money in the world to blow, but want to do it right! Just a little info.. The jeep will be 75% pavement princess and 25% pnw off-road warrior! Not trying to rock crawl the thing, just some mountain trails and such!

If you guys could steer me in a safe, smart, low cost direction it would be much appreciated!

Thanks for your input.

-Brian
Old 11-07-2013, 04:33 AM
JK Forum Regional Rep

Welcome to the forum First you need to either strengthen your axle housing like gussets,sleeves,truss or up grade to pr44,pr60.Up grade your axle shafts front and rear,gear change.Your could run a small lift with flat fenders.Depending your off road needs,your steering will need work as well.Drive shafts especially the front.That's a start,good luck
Old 11-07-2013, 04:47 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by familytime