Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

30,000 mile service

Old 02-24-2012, 11:47 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 30,000 mile service

My Jeep is about to hit 30,000 miles, and I want to perform the necessary service to it.

I know what needs done, but this is my first time in doing this type of service myself. So I was hoping someone could help me with oils. This is what I have picked out:

Front/Rear Gears: 75-90 Valvoline SynPower full synthetic (autozone)

Tranny Fluid: Penzoil Syncromesh Manual Fluid (advanced auto) (Is this stuff okay since I'm not going with the mopar stuff recommended by project jk writeup?) in the write up it does say you can use Syncromesh, I just want to make sure

Transfer Case: what fluid do I use here? The writeup again on project jk says to use ATF4, but it's all automatic fluid. What to get here?? Same as tranny fluid?

While at it I was going to also clean throttle body, check oil levels (In middle of oil change so not changing it). If no oil consumed, I won't check pcv. I may run seafoam through fuel to clean stuff out.
Old 02-24-2012, 11:57 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Good thread. I'm coming close to 30k myself.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:04 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by MacBeJeepin
My Jeep is about to hit 30,000 miles, and I want to perform the necessary service to it.

I know what needs done, but this is my first time in doing this type of service myself. So I was hoping someone could help me with oils. This is what I have picked out:

Front/Rear Gears: 75-90 Valvoline SynPower full synthetic (autozone)