Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

3.5" skyjacker lift non mechanic perspective

Old 05-05-2009, 11:19 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink 3.5" skyjacker lift non mechanic perspective

so i was reading about how it's not all that hard to do a suspension lift under 4" on your own jeep. i thought this meant that even i would be able to do one. i went ahead and ordered my lift, tires, rims, and a cool little gps for the center console.
i have no experience working on cars of any type. i've never even changed oil in a car. i got the kit in the mail and it said i needed the following items:
1. sockets
2. drill bits of various sizes
3. floor jack
4. jack stands

i read the list and thought, wow this is gonna be a breeze. all i had to do was buy the tools. i went to walmart and bought sockets that didn't have the correct sizes, drill bits that were too small, a jack stand that would not lift my jeep high enough, and the only thing i got right was the jack stands. it only took a few more trips to get the rest of the stuff. that list wasn't what you would call comprehensive

step one was to disconnect the sway bar...

so what is a sway bar anyway? i had to search the internet to learn what it was. even then i tried to disconnect the ball joint on the sway bar at first. after about one hour i did it. step 2 disconnect the track bar. ok... back to google.