Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

2012 JKU Lift Questions - Newbie here!

Old 06-29-2012, 04:08 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 JKU Lift Questions - Newbie here!

Hey Everyone! Just purchased my first Jeep a couple weeks ago, a 2012 JKU Sport w/auto transmission. I will be using as a DD mostly, but plan to do a little offroading and trails, but no crawling. Looking to get a 2.5" lift and 35" Nitto Trail Grappler tires (17" wheel) and have been reading the forum and it seems I keep going around in circles with trying to get answers, so figured I would just start my own thread. Only considering a 2.5" lift to avoid have to make any other serious mods with lifts over 2.5".

For the lift, I am just at a total loss on which one to go with. The shops have recommended Procomp 2.5", but I have read that Procomp is not so good. Teraflex and OME seem to get good reviews. Based on the type of use I will be doing (see above), what is suggested as a good 2.5" lift to go for? If OME and the HD lift, will I run into any issues before getting bumpers since lift will likely be over 2.5" . Also, if shocks with lift kit, what shocks does everyone recommend?

Also, plan to mod the bumpers eventually, so do I need to worry about the lift dropping when I put those on? Should I do bumpers first then lift?

Also, what kind of issues should I expect with a 2.5" lift and 35's? Will I have a significant loss of power on the 3.73 gears I have? How bad will my MPG suffer? Will tires rub at all? Any spacing issues?