Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

2012 JK 2DR Front end creaking!!

Old 12-19-2011, 09:50 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 JK 2DR Front end creaking!!

So this is my first post but a little background I was a Jeep specialty mechanic a few years ago and know the ins outs of cj's yj's tj's and xj's but these jk's are a whole other beast... So I put a set of smitty xrc rocker guards on and a tera 1.5" leveling kit last week and then I did spidertrax 1.25" wheel spacers with the factory wheels and mtz 285/70/17 tires, and now all of a sudden Im getting a creaking noise thats coming from the front passenger side and almost sounds like a front axle u joint on a typical d30 going bad but after checking that and every nut and bolt under the front end I have found nothing that fix's it. It mainly happens under initial acceleration and some slow turns (1-5mph). I wanted to see what everyone's input on this subject is. My gut feeling is its something to do with the spring but everything's been sprayed down with lube and not a thing has changed. Any possibility the rocker guards could be making this noise when the body flex's a little under acceleration?
Thanks for the help in advance!!
Also, When making the jeep bounce by pushing and pulling on the front end there is no noise at all and when I rock the Jeep side to side there is no noise...

Last edited by 12JK2DR; 12-19-2011 at 10:05 PM.
Old 12-19-2011, 10:37 PM
JK Enthusiast

My vote is the wheel spacers. Try running without them for a little if you can. Or at least make sure they are torqued correctly
Old 12-20-2011, 07:54 AM
JK Newbie