Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

2011 JK Rubicon lift issues

Old 09-26-2013, 02:47 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2011 JK Rubicon lift issues

Hey everyone! Im pretty new to the JK scene (had a 1999 TJ 6" LA) and Im looking to buy a lift for it. Im planning on getting either the RK 2.5 max travel or possibly the 3.5 flex with Fox shocks and 35's (to be upgraded to max travel at some point.) By the way I have a manual transmission.

My questions are:

Will there be any driveshaft issues with the 2.5 MT, 3.5 Flex? (length or rubbing)

Will there be any additional parts I will require?

I have HD D44's front and rear 4.10 gears, will the axles hold up with moderate NJ wheeling (mud, sand, light rocks)

I have searched many threads to find out the driveshaft questions but they are all 2012+. I like the idea of the 3.5 because once this isnt my daily driver i plan to go bigger than 35" tires. saves money in the long run. Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
Old 09-26-2013, 03:13 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

There are some faq's right at the top of this modified area with some decent information, and there is a driveshaft thread on this first page just a few down from your thread. The gist of the driveshaft issue is, too many variable to know whether you will or won't have a problem, we would be guessing. In general, the higher you go, the more likely it will be. Disconnected and flexing, more likely than if you are just mall crawling. Longer shocks, more likely than shorter shocks. 2door, more likely than 4door. etc, etc.