Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Jeep JK 2007-2011 Throw out bearing noise fix

Old 06-04-2018 | 12:30 PM
JK Newbie

Thumbs up Jeep JK 2007-2011 Throw out bearing noise fix

I believe I just fixed my Jeep JK throw out bearing issue. First, I am not an auto mechanic but I do run the Maintenance division for the USS Carl Vinson aircraft carrier's 10,500lb hydraulic weapons elevators and am very versed in mechanics, repairs and hydraulic systems. I have a 2011 Jeep JKU sport with 60k miles. In those 60k miles I have put 3 new clutches and 5 new TOB's in. Sounds excessive right? Pointless is more accurate. I packed my stock clutch with mud at 7k miles and blew the friction plate. I had a very reputable 4 wheel shop install a centerforce dual friction and right off the bat I had a ticking sound anytime I wasn't pressing the clutch. If I pressed the clutch in at least an 1-2inches, the sound would go away. I called centerforce and they told me it was normal due to the centrifugal weights. 11k miles later my throw out bearing failed and burned up the fingers on my pressure plate. I had another TOB and dual friction clutch in by the dealer. The ticking from the TOB was still there but even louder. 20,000 miles later my TOB went out again but luckily it failed instantly and didn't machine my pressure plate fingers. I had the dealer install a new TOB and requested a master Tech inspect everything to find any underlying causes. He didn't find anything and gave me the standard After market clutch speech. I drove the Jeep another 15k miles with that annoying ticking sound until AGAIN the TOB went out... By this time my wife is ready to drive it off a cliff ( luckily she can't drive a standard ). By this time I felt about the same so even though there was nothing wrong with the latest centerforce, I swapped to a Spec 2+ while the loca