Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Why are so many new modded Jeeps for sale?

Old 09-26-2010, 07:43 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why are so many new modded Jeeps for sale?

I am a noob to JEEPS considering an Unlimited. I am just curious about the seemingly large number of newer (1 maybe 2 year old) JK's that are lightly modded (lifts and tires) with very low miles that are for sale. What do you think the reason is? They don't like it after the mods, problems. They hate the ride? Not what they thought it would be? Just looking for some possible reasons from those in the know....thanks.
Old 09-26-2010, 08:48 AM
JK Newbie

The JK has definitely been the "entry point" for a lot of new Jeep owners, especially the Unlimited. Maybe they trade them in because its not what they thought it would be (they really wanted a luxury SUV) Maybe they bought less Jeep than they thought they needed and have upgraded. (bought an X and decided they wanted a Rubi and didn't want to do the work themselves)
Old 09-26-2010, 08:53 AM
JK Freak

Just my opinion: I lot of people need a minivan but minivan's aren't cool. They get a big Jeep instead. They do the Jeep thing and put a lift and bigger tires on it. Turns out they didn't need a Jeep, they needed a minivan. They can't handle the flaws/quirks of the Jeep, they need better mileage, they need more storage and seating, and they want a smoother more plush ride. Minivan people can't handle rattling doors, leaky roofs, and wind noise. Some people just aren't Jeep people and need to stick with plush SUVs and minivans. It's a Jeep thing. You either get it or you don't. It's too bad some people need to waste a lot of money to figure out they're not cut out for "the club". JKs just aren't minivans.
Old 09-26-2010, 09:15 AM
JK Super Freak