Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Tire falling apart?

Old 11-19-2009, 12:54 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire falling apart?

I found this slice in my tire... I have not run over anything and it wasn't there after my last jaunt off road...

My dad said it almost looks as if the tires splitting apart? I am not sure what it is.

Is it a defective tire or what? probably 30,000 Km on them. Is it safe to run on the road? it goes pretty deep into the lug.. at least halfway...

Old 11-19-2009, 01:21 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

No worries! If you were to get offroad tires siped for better snow and water traction usually they go down to the bottoms of the lugs so deeper than your slice. Who knows what caused it but I wouldn't worry at all about something like that (and I was an engineer at Goodyear for a few months so I know a thing or two about tires)
Old 11-19-2009, 01:30 PM
JK Freak

Don't look now, but I think someone might have urinated on your tire!!
Old 11-19-2009, 01:37 PM
JK Enthusiast

I would make sure your tire is not hitting the rear pinch seam
Old 11-19-2009, 01:42 PM
JK Junkie

It looks like one of those "cuts" goes across the whole tread. Keep an eye on that one.

They are still in the lugs, so the worse that can happen for now is that you will get chunking, but you should keep an eye on the tire(s) and try to figure what caused them.

If they are still under warranty take them to the tire store.

If the cuts get down to the undertread and cap plies, replace them.
Old 11-19-2009, 01:53 PM
JK Freak

Ive been looking for the warranty, how many kms they are suppose to be good for but cant find it... they are mickey thompson baja mtz anyone know where to find it?
Old 11-19-2009, 03:27 PM
JK Junkie

Originally Posted by morticon