Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Talk me out of a Rubicon

Old 07-06-2011, 11:29 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Talk me out of a Rubicon

I originally planned on a 2012 Sport but I keep looking at the Rubicon (which is a little past the upper limit of what I can afford). I keep telling myself it would not only be cooler to own but it would save the pain in the ass and cost of labor of installing all the goodies a Rubicon has on my future Sport.

The deal is, I would mostly use this as my daily driver and would not go off-road a lot. I'm also realizing that a lot of off-road situations that would require the tools the Rubicon has, would be a situation I would not want to be in with a new, nice looking Jeep.

I'm not experienced with off-roading so I can't really fully appreciate the differences between the Sport (which I would plan on putting 32" mud tires on) and the Rubicon.
Old 07-06-2011, 11:39 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If i did it again i would get a Rubi for a DD. and an X if i was going to build it up with axles Atlas transfer case etc. Also the 4.1 gears would be a help on larger tires.

looks like i suck at talking people down
Old 07-06-2011, 11:41 AM
JK Newbie

im pretty savy with spreadsheets....i have a parts list of owned and still to purchase parts for my Firebird that totals over 9k....if u could sit down and total up the goodies u wanna add that might be already covered somewhat by the rubicon...then factor in interest rates of ur car payment vs interest rates of ur credit card....it might be worth it to just get the rubicon....

just my .02
Old 07-06-2011, 11:42 AM
JK Super Freak

Buy what you want bro. You only live once might as well get what you want the first time. If you want a Rubicon get the Rubi.
Old 07-06-2011, 11:49 AM
JK Super Freak