Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Removing doors

Old 05-24-2012, 10:22 PM
LSM
JK Newbie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Removing doors

I want to take the doors off my JKU but I've never done it before. How hard is it to do and does it mess up the paint around the hinges?
Old 05-24-2012, 10:28 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Not hard at all. just make sure you have the right size star driver bit. take the nuts out make sure to dis conect the cable from below the glove box and dash. take the retention straps off. You might have to move the doors back and forth the first time you take them off if they are stiff. Have some one help you the first time to for the extra strength. Lift straight up out of the pin holes. and lift by the bottom I saw a guy try to lift by the door handle and it didn't work so well. I am sure more people will give you better instructions than I can. good luck and enjoy.
Old 05-24-2012, 11:12 PM
JK Enthusiast

A few tips if you like running doorless. First get a good dark or light (depending on paint color) grease to lube the hinges once you remove the doors. Will make them much easier to remove a second time. Second don't reinstall the bolts that hold the doors on the hinge. Gravity is more than enough to keep the door on and if you lock the doors they can't be stolen. Third roll down the windows before removing. It will give you a way to grab the door and protect the glass. Fourth fold the side mirrors in as well before removing. Finally park facing uphill to remove the doors. I've you take off the strap that keeps them from opening all the way they can slam open and hit the front hood giving you a nice dent! That's all I can think of right now!
Old 05-25-2012, 02:40 AM
JK Enthusiast