Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

My first offroad experience! (w/ pics)

Old 02-05-2007, 12:19 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first offroad experience! (w/ pics)

I want to preface this by saying that I'm a total newb when it comes to offroading. All I know is that it looks like fun and I've been itching to get my jeep out there since I picked it up 3 weeks ago. Also keep in mind that my Sahara Unlimited is bone stock.

So I go out to my in-law's place and they have about 15 acres behind their house to roam. I get back there, climb a few little hills, climb over some fallen trees, grinning hysterically the entire way.

Not 10 minutes into my little adventure, I attempt to cross what I thought was a dry creekbed. I'm creeping along fine until I hit the sand and then come to a complete stop. I try to go forward, I try to go back. I'm already stuck. :sad:

Turns out this "dry" creekbed is actually about a foot of wet sand and clay. That stuff clogged up my tires so fast that I didn't stand a chance. I rocked it back and forth, tried to dig myself out, shoved pieces of wood under my tires. All to no avail. In the end, I found myself up to my running boards in sand. I was dug in deep.

I finally had to break down and call my father-in-law to come out and pull my baby out with his Ford F250. How embarrassing!

Also, unfortunately, I did not have my camera out there to document this event. I drove up to the house to get it right after this.

So after that excitement, I decided to take it easy and take a few pictures of the jeep in its natural habitat. Here are a few:

And my favorite pic: