Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Insurance....

Old 11-30-2007, 02:09 PM
JK Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Insurance....

OK, if this doesn't show I'm a newbie nothing will.

I am sitting here looking at the lift that gets put on tomorrow and it got me to thinking. Do I need to inform my insurance company I have modified the Jeep from it's original suspension? Will a lift cause a problem with coverage if there is ever an accident?
Old 11-30-2007, 02:23 PM
JK Enthusiast

if your lift is installed right, then no. I could see if your lift was done wrong and you knew it but drove with it some lawyer would take that and run if he/she knew.
Old 11-30-2007, 02:30 PM
JK Newbie

i thought i saw on the progressive *or some company's web site* that they will not insure ya if you have a lift of 4" or greater??? it was a while ago, so idk for sure
Old 11-30-2007, 02:43 PM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Call you agent. Most likely it will NOT be covered under your policy even if you notify them. End result: If it gets damaged in a wreck they will only pay for the cost of items damaged at oe prices. If however you are a claimant against some elses insurance policy than everything is covered.
Does that make sense?
Old 11-30-2007, 03:05 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by BaltChief
OK, if this doesn't show I'm a newbie nothing will.

I am sitting here looking at the lift that gets put on tomorrow and it got me to thinking. Do I need to inform my insurance company I have modified the Jeep from it's original suspension? Will a lift cause a problem with coverage if there is ever an accident?
No you do not.
Old 12-02-2007, 03:28 PM
JK Super Freak