Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Help me shape the future for offroad enthusiasts for the future connected car

Old 06-17-2020, 07:31 AM
Super Moderator

Received 209 Likes on 183 Posts
Default Help me shape the future for offroad enthusiasts for the future connected car

Hey everyone, I could really use your help if future creativity, technology and forward thinking is something that interests you.

What I do for a living is that I work in the development of automotive infotainment systems. Think along the lines of the future digital cockpit, the connected car, HD displays, cameras, autonomous driving vehicles etc, etc. That's what I do.

Currently, I'm in the concept planning and customer proposal stages of a unique opportunity that my supervisor has assigned to me which really has my personal interests of off-roading, camping, hunting, fishing and general outdoor enthusiasm in mind. The theme here is to create an in vehicle experience that would be desirable to the off-road, outdoor enthusiast. In simpler thinking terms, imagine if you could install a radio inside of your Jeep which would provide you everything you ever wanted to make your off-road adventures and accessory upgrades simpler. Think of all those aftermarket accessories you had to purchase and install after buying your Jeep.

What would you love to be able to see and control from your center dash touch screen?
This would all be connected to the vehicle CAN bus, so the doors are open to controlling and viewing any functionality built into the CAN bus. Most of this will be Android based development, so most anything you can do on an Android phone, you would be able to do here as well.

Here's a current list of items I have thought of off the top of my head, but would love to gather other ideas from this great community that I may have missed.