Notices
JK Show & Tell Whether they're just poser shots in your driveway or hardcore action shots on the trail, if you've got photos or videos of your Jeep JK Wrangler (or any JK for that matter that you think is worth showing off, inside or out), we want to see them so please post them here! Likewise, if you are wanting to see a photo of something specific like an aftermarket JK part or poser shot with a specific setup, this is the place to ask for it.

Welding on a Dana 44 axle.

Old 10-14-2009, 07:57 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Welding on a Dana 44 axle.

Hey guys,
I need some expert advice. One of my wife's friends crushed his Lower Control Arm Support and ordered two more "beefer" ones. I'm going to weld them on for him but I have an issue. I'm a welder by trade so thats ok. What i'm wondering is what is the wall thickness of the tube of the axle. I'm going to use stick to weld them on but i don't want to burn through. I can keep the Amperage pretty low on a 3/32" rod. About 58 - 65ish with full penetration. (Got to for welding Armor plate) To make matters worse I'm welding it on Saturday morning and he leaves saturday afternoon to drive across country.

Also has anyone ever welded these on with stick? I've seen online alot of Mig used for this job but not stick so much. I got mig as well but my push/pull is broken right now.
The control arms are still attached to the brackets. Are there any tension on these? I really have no clue about mechanics. (Sad I know!!) I don't want to take a bolt off and something shoot out at me.

Any help would be great.
Old 10-14-2009, 10:55 PM
JK Jedi Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts