Notices
JK Show & Tell Whether they're just poser shots in your driveway or hardcore action shots on the trail, if you've got photos or videos of your Jeep JK Wrangler (or any JK for that matter that you think is worth showing off, inside or out), we want to see them so please post them here! Likewise, if you are wanting to see a photo of something specific like an aftermarket JK part or poser shot with a specific setup, this is the place to ask for it.

Welder Help!

Old 04-02-2012, 07:08 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Welder Help!

I bought my first welder about 2 months ago a Lincoln HD 140, it seems pretty good. But I thinking about taking it back and exchanging it for the HD 180 220v. My intentions are to build bumper, slider etc.
Should I just keep the 140 or upgraded to the 180?
Would the welds be alot stronger with the 180?
Im still new to fabrication so trying to decide whats the best?
Old 04-02-2012, 07:43 AM
JK Newbie

The 140 is a good little welder. The duty cycle for 3/16 steel is short which can lengthen you time to complete you project. I had a small unit like this one a few years back. I loved how easy it was take with me. I ended up replacing it with a miller 250 for welding 1/2" material.

Your weld technic and ability will affect your weld strength more than the power of the unit. You can always multi pass and backside weld with a small unit.

You will have to decide on how thick of a material you want to weld.
Old 04-02-2012, 07:48 AM
JK Newbie

More power will welding is not always better. To much heat will just burn thru. A properly tied in weld will not be any stronger just because I used a different machine.

Weld size, weld design, material selection, wire type, gas type, weld prep, weld quality, etc dictates the weld strength.
Old 04-02-2012, 08:30 AM
JK Enthusiast