Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Lift Kit versus Suspension Kit - Differences?

Old 08-06-2014, 01:47 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lift Kit versus Suspension Kit - Differences?

Newbie question for you guys...

I'm considering getting upgrading the suspension on my Jeep and since I'm relatively new to the truck/Jeep world, I don't understand all the differences between the kits that are available. Prior to my Jeep, I had a little sedan, and the only "kits" to choose from were either new springs, new springs/struts, or a full coilover system. They all basically did the same thing though, made your suspension stiffer or car sit lower. Now that I'm in the Jeep world I'm seeing "lift" kits, suspension kits, leveling kits, etc. What are the differences between them all, and what is recommended???

The two that I want to learn the most about are lift kits versus suspension kits. What are the pros/cons and biggest benefits of going with either a body "lift" versus a suspension kit?

From my research so far, it seems like the major advantage to a body lift versus a suspension kit is cost, as they are much cheaper. With a body lift you can still put larger tires on and gain additional ground clearance. However, it seems like a body lift will not help you at all in the suspension travel or articulation departments. That said, it seems like a body lift is a good option for those looking to spend less money and who primarily focus on trails without many obstacles, mud pits, relatively level ground, etc., while a suspension kit is better for those doing rock climbing or or riding trails with many more obstacles. Are these valid assumptions?
Old 08-06-2014, 01:59 PM
JK Newbie