Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Yes, More Q's for wiring OTRATTW

Old 04-16-2013, 05:58 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yes, More Q's for wiring OTRATTW

Hi All,
I am a total novice to wiring and i'm totally scared to burn down my jeep! I have read multiple posts on wiring these switches and the more i read, the more i confuse myself. Please let me run this by you experts for some corrections and adjustments.
Few goals I'd like to accomplish:
1) switch lights come on when dash lights do and are dimmable
2) Switch 3 will turn on and off both sets of lights at the same time, but switch 1 and switch 2 should still be able to turn on their own lights indepentantly while switch 3 is in the off position
3) i would really like to avoid an electrical fire

Few notes:
1) I'm using 18gauge wire
2) I'm using the factory KC wiring harnesses
3) switch 4 is just for show - but i would like it to light up with the others (and the image to light up once switched on)

Here is my diagram:Click image for larger version

Name:	Switch Wiring.jpg
Views:	829
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	447484

Please let me know if i can provide more info, how wrong i am, or if it is even possible to have a 3rd switch override switches 1 and 2.
Thanks!
Old 04-16-2013, 04:02 PM
JK Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Everything is correct except for terminal #2. You should have 12 Volts ( + ) at all of these terminals. You light grounds should go back to the battery.
Old 04-16-2013, 08:30 PM
JK Freak

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts