Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

PIAA fogs, need help with install!!!!!!!

Old 08-11-2010, 09:00 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PIAA fogs, need help with install!!!!!!!

I got the PIAA 520i fog lights and i'm trying to figure out where can i tap the white wire with red dots (switch power wire) to. i tried searching but all i got was a vague write up that might have said tap it to the high beam wires or the factory fog light wiring (i don't have factory fog lights FYI) i'm not sure.

i'm not experienced much in electrical wiring but i've read as much as i could find on the subject and i think i got it.

also how can i run my switch wire under the center console so it can look something like this
do i have to remove the center panel or can the wire fit under somehow.

image borrowed from lakeview's very helpful write up, https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/show...highlight=piaa
Old 08-11-2010, 09:27 AM
JK Freak

If you have a three-pronged switch, the first tab goes to a powered wire. You can tap into the cigarette lighter's positive wire. This will give your switch power only while the ignition is ON. If you want the lights to stay on with the ignition OFF, then tap into the right power outlet's power wire. The switch will only draw minimal amps, so it's safe to tap into these wires ONLY if you are using a relay. The middle, longest tab will go to your RELAY. The last goes to a ground. There are plenty of ground terminals in the driver and passenger footwells. they are the black nuts with a bunch of wires terminating at them.
Old 08-11-2010, 09:30 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post