Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Old man needs better sound!!!

Old 01-08-2014, 04:09 PM
JK Newbie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Old man needs better sound!!!

I would like to retain my basic stock head unit in my 2013 Jeep Sport 2dr. I have very little knowledge when it comes to stereo systems so hang in there. A friend of mine sold me a Audiocontrol LC6I line out converter that he said I would need between my head unit & amplifier. I know there are cheaper ones, but he gave me a good deal. From what I understand, I should take a set of RCA's and cut the ends off one end, and then tie into my rear speaker wires, then plug the RCA's into my amp? How do the speaker wires for the sound bar run? Do they come down from the dash along the transmission tunnel or down along the doors? I bought 4 Rockford Fosgate 6.3/4" Punch speakers and a set of Polk tweeters to replace the factory stuff.
Thanks for your input!!
Old 01-08-2014, 04:54 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Please don't cut the ends off of the RCA cables and splice them in that is the exact wrong way to do it. Amps need a different frequency than regular door speakers that's why you bought the line output converter LOC. You will have wires on your loc that tap into the factory speaker wires. If you are powering door speakers you will tap into the front and rear speaker wires. That is assuming your amp is 4 channel and your loc is 4 channel. The RCA wires will run from the loc to the amp and the speaker wires run from the amp to the speakers. The amp also must have a large power wire run from the battery a good ground and switched/remote wire.
Old 01-08-2014, 04:57 PM
JK Enthusiast