Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Newbie Installer needs detailed instructions for ARB on Board wiring

Old 06-18-2010, 05:05 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Installer needs detailed instructions for ARB on Board wiring

I purchased the ARB on board air compressor from David last weekend. After studying the forum, the diagram, and having mounted the compressor, I am about the attempt the wiring hookup tomorrow.

I am new at this type of electrical work. The only succesful thing I've done so far is wire my CB to my battery and to a ground source. I have no experience splicing wires or "tapping" into other wires.

My local 4 way store told me I would need a 12v mini tap in for a fuse connection today. After picking up all the required stuff at pep boys, I'm good to go.

However, I know this might be an exercise in futility. Could someone please give me a step by step instruction on how to "Tap" other wires, "tap" the fuse box, and install this sucker?

I am using the compressor solely for airing tires but would like to save the option for air lockers down the road. I was told to use dialectric grease (?) and electrical tape on these wires.

I also noticed there are three wirings to switch1, switch 2, and isolation switch. Am I to use the isolation switch?

Lastly, I don't have a daystar switch panel so any advice on where to mount the ARB switch and how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

I owe you lots of for those who can help.

Thanks in advanced.
Old 06-18-2010, 05:56 PM
JK Enthusiast

BTT -

ANY help/tips/advice is greatly appreciated.
Old 06-18-2010, 06:22 PM
JK Super Freak