Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Need Help Deciding on Lighting

Old 01-13-2015, 08:23 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help Deciding on Lighting

Sorry but I am new to the lighting area of things. I am looking to add some lights to my 12 JKUR. Here are the two options I think I have narrowed it down to:

Option 1:
1 set of KC Apollo Pro Fogs on the Bumper
1 Set of KC Apollo Pro Long Range on the Windshield

Option 2:
2 Sets of Rigid Dually's (1 Flood/1 Spot)
Both mounted on the a pillar using the Rigid dual A Pillar Mount

Now I see Dually's mounted on the windshield fairly option but I hardly ever see the dual a pillar mount. Why is that? Too much noise? Also with that set up I was going to put the flood's on the bottom and the spots on the top....is this going to reflect off the hood too much (my JK is black)?

Where have you guys been mounting the switches for lights? Are the switches that come with these light good enough to do the job or do you recommend something else?

Any pics would be awesome
Old 01-13-2015, 09:05 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'd suggest against putting the floods on the A-pillar. I had a set there before and the glare was really annoying.

To compare to the lightbar on the roof, it lights up the entire hood and area and the glare is not as distracting, the a pillar floods lit up two large ovals on the hood but the rest of it was dark which is what made it very distracting to me.
Old 01-13-2015, 10:24 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

As for switches, go for the sPOD. It's upfront cost is offset by easy install, no worries about codes popping up, and clean factory look.