Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Mygig RER microphone installation help does this happen to anybody else

Old 10-24-2013, 10:12 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mygig RER microphone installation help does this happen to anybody else

Hi I am new to the jeep community. I have always wanted a jeep every since I was 10 years old. Last week I bought my first jeep a 2008 Sahara from Carmax I fell in love with it and have every option I was looking for including the uconnect and GPS. Once I got it home I was trying to figure out how to work the you connect. After a bunch of research I found out that the uconnect microphone is not preinstall. So why get somebody else to install it when I love doing things myself. So I ordered a microphone off eBay and watch some YouTube videos on how to install it (Jeep Wrangler Grand Cherokee Commander Liberty MYGIG Nav Microphone MOPAR OEM) it arrived in the mail today. First thing I did is unplug my battery. Second thing I did is start to take the dash apart. The third thing I did is unscrew the mygig and slide it out a few inches. The fourth thing I did I plugged the microphone into the center of the back of the box. I put everything back together the way it was and hooked up my battery. I turn the car on and it works. I turn the car off I want to get my phone came back turn the car back on and it does not work anymore. This happened four times I thought at first it was one of the wires in the back was pinched. After about the fourth time I figured out that it only works once and then you turn the car off and it does not work anymore. I am so frustrated and just give up I am seeking advice on how to fix this problem. Can anybody please help me.