Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

How to Trigger In-Cab Relay?

Old 11-07-2021, 08:09 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to Trigger In-Cab Relay?

Hey all I have a novice question looking for an expert answer. I have some experience working on wiring in my rig, but only slight confidence in my schematics.

Big picture, I'm trying to set up an additional cigarette outlet in the back of the JK as a "dedicated" portable battery charger when driving around. I would like this new outlet to be hot only when the engine is ON so that I don't accidentally drain the car battery when parked. I want to avoid the switched-power-from-the-fuse-box method as I have a bus bar in the cab that needs to be always hot (separate topic).

My plan is to set up in the back of the jeep, a relay with the trigger tapping into the 12v cig lighter HOT wire in the dash, and then grounding the relay into a stud on the body. FYI, my dash cig lighter is only hot when the engine is on. This new relay (12 AWG 30A) would be wired in "after" the bus bar so that my other accessories would be always on.

The question is...Will the hot wire from the dash cig lighter work to trigger the relay? Would it be too much power for a trigger on the relay?

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-07-2021, 10:59 PM
JK Newbie

Received 19 Likes on 10 Posts

It should be fine if it is only the trigger for the relay. The trigger only draws a few milliamps to trip the relay. I did the same thing to power half of a 16 circuit distribution box.
Old 11-08-2021, 06:39 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Moodyalaskan