Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

How do you extend wires.?

Old 08-06-2012, 12:51 PM
JK Jedi

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How do you extend wires.?

I'm a noob at this and I can't find anything on how to do it please help me I want to relocate my license plate pictures would be best thanks
Old 08-06-2012, 01:11 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Jeek.OlllllllO
I'm a noob at this and I can't find anything on how to do it please help me I want to relocate my license plate pictures would be best thanks
I like to solder mine and shrink wrap them to keep the water etc. out. Just figure out how long you want the extension. Cut the wire in an area that gives you some room to work. Strip the insulation back about 1/2" on the wire as well as the extension piece. Slip your shrink tube over the wire and slide it out of the way. Using a soldering iron or gun heat the connection until the solder flows in. Let it cool for a minute or two. Then slide the tubing over it and use a lighter to shrink it down. All these items can be picked up at the hardware store very inexpensively. Hope that helps!
Old 08-06-2012, 01:25 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

I'm guessing you mean the rear plate and you need to wire license plate light in the new location?

Go to the auto parts store and get yerself a pack of crimp-on Butt Splice connectors and rolls of wire in the right size and color. The blue connectors probably fit the wires about right, but the smaller red ones might fit even better. You need a crimping tool - don't buy the cheapest one you can find. It will be useless. Crimp those suckers tight, and pull on the wire to make sure it won't pull out.