Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Help on basic sound system upgrade

Old 11-16-2012, 11:45 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help on basic sound system upgrade

Hey everyone I'm looking to upgrade my stock sound system in my 08 X unlimited. I'm pretty fed up with the current set up, but I'm a total newbie when it comes to sound systems, and I don't really have any idea where to start.
I bought a pair of 6 1/2" alpine speakers a little over a year ago with intentions of upgrading the entire system, but insufficient funds ended that pretty quickly. I'm not looking for anything over the top just something with more clarity, more power, and maybe a little thump. I want to keep the stock head unit if possible to keep it looking as factory as possible, but I am willing to upgrade if need be.
My budget is only about $400 to $500 any help you can give would be much appreciated.
Old 11-16-2012, 02:22 PM
JK Newbie

Nothing??? I know there's ton of threads about this because I've tried to read them, but a lot of this audio and electrical stuff is a little over my head. I just don't have any experience with audio or electrical components.
Old 11-16-2012, 02:29 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Crutchfield is your friend. You can order speakers through them and install yourself because they give you everything including step by step instructions.

I would suggest an Infinity Basslink II from them as well, which is a self-powered subwoofer. If you don't have a any stereo install skills, you may want to have a local shop install it. Crutchfield has 1-800 tech people to walk you through it.

You might also check into Quadratec's plug and play stereos for the JK. They are really easy to install.