Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Cartoys experience?

Old 06-11-2013, 08:44 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cartoys experience?

My uncle just offered to pay for a new head unit and to have Cartoys install it. I'm not sure which model, but he mentioned Kenwood and blue tooth in the short time I had to talk. I'll get the specifics tomorrow.

Anyway, what do you guys think of Cartoys as a company? I know each store is different in terms of the experience of the people, but in general, are they usually known for employing good, experienced people? Are there better places? (I live in Fort Worth)
Old 06-11-2013, 10:34 PM
JK Newbie

I've never shopped at Car Toys, as I am an installer myself. A few things I would look for/ask:

Are their installers MECP certified? MECP is our certification program that ensures we at least in theory know what we are doing.
How long have the individual installers been in the industry, professionally?
Do they offer any sort of warranty on the work? How long? What does it cover?

Also, don't set on CarToys. Depending on how they answer, do a little shopping around. I know where I work, we offer a life of the vehicle warranty on the install itself, and will check out any issues with your stereo/system. If you have any questions about their answers, or anything, just shoot me a PM.
Old 06-12-2013, 09:50 AM
JK Enthusiast

Thanks Aideon! I'll do a little investigating....

The unit I'm getting is a Kenwood KDCX597. Just a quick look online, it seems like a nice unit.
Old 06-12-2013, 10:06 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by bfschor
Thanks Aideon! I'll do a little investigating....