Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Ham radio mount for JK

Old 02-21-2022, 11:20 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ham radio mount for JK

Hey y’all, I’m new here so take it easy on me lol I’ve been a ham radio operator since the late 90s, but am new to the Jeep world.

What type of mount do y’all use for ham antennas? Obviously my mag mount won’t work on my freedom top and in the middle of the hood wouldn’t be an ideal location, so throw me some ideas. (I did look a few pages into the thread)
Old 02-22-2022, 12:06 AM
JK Freak

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts

My favorite is on the front fender under the hood to an exisitng fender bolt. It's a CB antenna mount that had to be drilled out for the ham antenna. I couldn't drill the stainless steel but a 4wd shop did it for me.

The following 4 users liked this post by bbolander:
CMASteve (02-22-2022), GrumpyFinn (09-02-2022), kd7uch (03-18-2022), Long Haired Country Boy (02-22-2022)
Old 02-23-2022, 08:31 AM
Dat
JK Freak

Received 112 Likes on 99 Posts

Fender mount like posted above is probably best, that’s the way i did my CB, now that i am getting into ham, im gonna have to do some rethinking on if i want to add a radio, or swap out, antenna location is limited on a jeep
Old 02-23-2022, 11:59 AM
JK Newbie

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm working on an antenna mount that will put the antenna just over the JK taillight.

Even though the tire carrier mount is popular, I need to keep the ability to close the tailgate with the rear hard top window open.
Many have argued that mounting behind the rear tire (steel belts) is one of the worst, least-optimal locations for an antenna.