Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Ham license

Old 02-21-2022, 06:06 AM
Dat
JK Freak

Received 112 Likes on 99 Posts
Default Ham license

I just went and took the technician license, that’s the only one I studied for, they asked if I wanted to take the general, i did, but didn’t pass it, only passed the technician, but am going to read up on it for the next testing session.

anyway, I don’t know much at all about ham, had a cb pretty much in every vehicle I’ve had since i started driving, I guess my Question is for a mobile radio, are there any advantages of getting a higher class license or is a mobile more geared towards the basic license, still a lot to learn, and i am probably going to go to the radio club meeting to see more of what’s put there too.

I think i just opened the door on another expensive hobby
Old 02-21-2022, 09:42 AM
Super Moderator

Received 476 Likes on 427 Posts

Ham is great if you are way in remote areas to get hold of people. Aviation radios are great too on the 243.00MHz Emerg Frequency. Pilots flying over always monitor the emergency channel.
Old 02-21-2022, 11:09 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Welcome to ham radio. I’ve been a ham since the late 90s, but just bought my first Jeep yesterday.
Old 02-23-2022, 08:26 AM
Dat
JK Freak

Enjoy the jeep
remember
Just Empty Every Pocket
there is always one more accessory you might want
The following users liked this post:
Long Haired Country Boy (02-24-2022)
Old 03-20-2022, 03:50 PM
Dat
JK Freak

Ok, now KI5TUT-AG
starting to study for extra, but anyway, have a line on an icom ic7100 at a decent price, what would be a good antenna for that on a two door
CMASteve (03-21-2022)
Old 03-24-2022, 10:16 AM
Owl
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts