Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Cobra Handheld CB

Old 11-17-2010, 04:17 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cobra Handheld CB

Hi i just have some questions about the cobra handheld cb radio. im new to the jeep lifestyle and thinking a cb radio will be good for those trips on the trails. i just want to know what you guys think of the handheld cb radio? im new to off roading so i would imagine a cb radio might come in handy. thanks
Old 11-17-2010, 04:36 AM
JK Freak

I like mine so far but I've only used it once. I just like the fact that you can hide it. Some people have complained about the life expectancy, but with a warranty I'm not to worried.
Old 11-17-2010, 05:28 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

By hand held CB, are you referring to the "Walkie Talkie" style like this

If you are considering a true "handheld", you may be disappointed. I bought one and I found it's performance to be dismal. I still use it on occasion when spotting a Jeep through an obstacle or scouting a potnetially ugly line, but the small speaker and small antenna make it's performance pretty poor. No reflection on the quality of the unit, just that CB radio and short little "rubber ducky" antennas don't mix well together.

or are you referring to the Cobra 75 CB?

The 75 requires having a junction box installed into your Jeep, but you can remove the mike portion and stash it in the glove box when you park (or just leave it at home if you like).