Notices
Hunting & Firearms General discussion forum regarding hunting, rifles and handguns.

New AR15 in the New Year

Old 12-18-2009, 03:06 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New AR15 in the New Year

looking to buy my first AR15. What should I be looking for. I am totally new to the AR world. I only have bolt action and lever rifles and pump shotguns for hunting but I would like to start target shooting more and have a good home defense weapon.

Two of the ones I looked at on line were the:
Sabre Defence XR-15 or the Bushmaster AR-15.
Both in .223.

I am in Downingtown PA so if anyone has any info on a good vendor please let me know. Was also looking for a range to join. Any information you can supply is greatly appreciated I know some on here are great resources in this area.
Old 12-18-2009, 03:45 PM
JK Jedi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I b uilt my first one... and I think it is the only way to go. I have two more stripped lowers I am building the way I want too. One is going to be my first NFA class 3 firearm cause I am gonna build it as a short barrel rifle. They are super easy to put together (especially if you get a barreled upper) then it pretty much goes together like legos. You can buy the trigger you want in it, instead of replacing the trigger you bought in the original rifle and then paying for another... get the barrel you want, with the twist you want for the ammo you want to shoot... etc. Plus it is cheaper. For under $900 you can build an AR nicer than a 1200+ off the shelf one.
Old 12-18-2009, 05:50 PM
JK Enthusiast

Building is easy, but buying gets you a functional rifle immediately.

Give John a call at Seneca Arms in Green Lane, PA. He always has a nice selection and isn't charging stupid prices.
Old 12-18-2009, 07:16 PM
JK Freak

The AR world can seem overwhelming with the aftermarket options...kinda like Jeeps!