Notices
Hunting & Firearms General discussion forum regarding hunting, rifles and handguns.

Getting into bows and have some questions

Old 10-25-2011, 09:51 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting into bows and have some questions

Soo i'm heading over to texas next week and i plan on going to cabela's for some camping stuff and a bow. I'm fairly new to the bow seen soo i got a few questions for you experts out there. First off since im not a serious hunter i've been debating which kind of bow to buy: a Compound bow or a Re-Curve/Long bow. I understand that the long bows are cheaper but i feel they dont preform as well as a compound bow will, then again no experience with either. I've found both types of bows for my budget(which is around $300-400) I would just like some input on which brands are good and what to look for. Thanks for future replys
Old 10-25-2011, 04:01 PM
JK Freak

I like and have compound. Compound bows are more compact, also very versatile for puting diffrent parts on them such as sights and etc. After you choose which kind you want then comes the draw wieght, you will have to see what feels more comfortable to pull back. I have a Bear Archery bow with 74lbs. draw wieght. My next bow will cost a few bucks more .... prob. going to get a Hoyt or mathews. Your also going to spend money on a relase,arrows,field tips,broad heads,bow case, bow wax, a better sight....like maybe a five pin instead of the three pin it will come with in a package deal. Whatever your decision , you'll have fun

Last edited by JK jeepin; 10-25-2011 at 04:07 PM.
Old 10-25-2011, 04:09 PM
JK Newbie

Go with the compound bow, it may cost a little extra money but its totally worth it. i am an avid bowhunter and sportsman. the compound bows perform way better and are way more accurate. i currently shoot a Rytera Triad its made by marting just a different name